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Internet Summaries
Google AdSense

AdSense Program Attributes
Channels, Targeting, and Placement
by
Vaughn Aubuchon

Here is a summary regarding AdSense channels, site targeting, and ad placement in the Google Ad Words/ AdSense PPC and CPM programs.

Many times I get confused about all the AdSense program attributes. So I have created an "Adsense Options Chart". I hope you like it.

1. Adsense Channels

2.
AdWords Ad Targeting

3.
AdSense Ad Placement

4.
Certified Ad Networks

5.
Conclusions

6.
Archival information

-

The "Content Network" has been renamed the "Display Network".
The "Display Network" = The "Publisher's Network".



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1. Adsense Channels

AdSense for Content - 17470 - Channel Summary
https://support.google.com/adsense/answer/17470


Total
Channels

Custom Channels
- 65083

Track
- by page
- by ad type
- by placement
Ad Placement (CPM)
Ad Placement allows advertisers to target your site, or your page with CPM ads.

Paste channel code into each page manually.

500

URL Channels
- 126138

Track Channel groups
- by single page
- by multiple pages
- by specific directory
- by specific sub domain
- all pages on a domain

Automatic, once set up.

AdSense for Search - 9879 - Channel Summary
https://support.google.com/adsense/answer/9879

Custom Channels

Track
- by page
- by placement

Paste channel code into each page manually.

200
500

AdSense for Feeds - 6053288 - Channel Summary
https://support.google.com/adwords/answer/6053288

Custom Channels

Track
- by page

Automatic, once set up.
I tried this once. I got 800 ads served for ONE PAGE VIEW - 4 ads for each of 200 pages. INSANE!
Do this if you ever need to cut your CTR to zero.

500

From this, one might say that AdSense offers 1,500 channels total,
although for different purposes.

150

225 - 550

125

50



How Does Google Target Ads - 9713
2. Contextual Targeting
3. Placement Targeting
4. CANs Targeting

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2. AdWords Contextual Ad Targeting (CPM, PPC)

CPM (clicks pay nothing)

Placement
Targeting
(formerly "Site Targeting")
Using
Custom Channels

What's a Placement? - - - - - - - 53215

Target Placements and Topics - 3119080

Placements - Choose Websites and Topics - 3119139

Placement & Keywords Work Together - 2580292

Display Network Placements - - - 3119080

Demographic Targeting - - - - - - 2580282

Focus on Impressions (CPM) - - 2630842


NOW: Advertiser targets CPM ads to URL (site) level, not page level
Needed for sites with diverse content: Advertiser targets CPC ads to PAGE level. This is another reason why PPC ads are superior to CPM ads.

-

Keyword Targeting
- 2497836

Advertisers can target websites by keywords, OR
Advertisers can target geographic areas and languages, but not both.

Location Targeting
- 6317

PPC

-

Focus on Clicks (CPC) - - - - - - 6268626

Search Network
- 1704373

All the places where your AdWords ads will be displayed on the Google Search Sites Network, and the Google Content Sites Display Network.

Campaign Types
- 2567043

Search Network with Display
Search Network Only
Display Network Only
Shopping
Video
Universal App

Advertisers may "opt out" of the Display Network. (formerly the Content Network)
Many do because of click fraud, either real or perceived.
Opting Out of the Display Network - 6340430
.

CPC Targeting
Beta

"CPC bidding has often been requested by advertisers who would like to utilize site targeting, but are not comfortable bidding on a CPM basis." These are advertisers who wish to avoid risk.

130

400 - 550

20



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3. AdSense Placement Targeting - (formerly "Site Targeting")

CPM (clicks pay nothing)

-

Placement 
Targeting
(formerly "Site Targeting")

Adsense - What Is Placement Targeting? - 32856

Adsense - What Is Placement Targeted Advertising? - 18195

Ad Placement

What is Ad Placement? - 160534

Ad Placement and How to Create It? - 160534

About Placement Targeting - 32856

How Can I Make A Custom Channel Into An Ad Placement? - 47413

Custom Channels

The publisher makes ads site targetable by CPM advertisers, using Custom Channels.

Third-Party Ads

which STILL appear to
be different from the
CANs listed below

Which Vendors Are Certified for Third-Party Ads? - 94149

Introducing Third-Party Ads - Image Only

--- About Display Ads - 9739

---
Say Hello to Placement Targeting -

---
About Placement Targeting - 32856

--- You MUST
Update your Privacy Policy - 1348695

Third-Party Display Ads - 94145

---
Expandable Ads - 6005201

---
Google Certified Networks - 152693
.

PPC

PPC Site
Targeting
PPC Page Targeting

Say Hello to Placement Targeting
"
Previously, advertisers could only bid on these targeted ads on a cost-per-impression (CPM) basis. Just as with contextually targeted CPC ads, you'll generate earnings for valid clicks on placement-targeted CPC ads."

I cannot find any information on how this works.
It has been mentioned, but not defined.
Are the targeted PPC ads distinguishable from regular PPC ads?
Must they compete with regular PPC ads, or are they given priority?
Do targeted PPC ads pay MORE or LESS than regular PPC ads?
Is page targeting available?
.

130

400 - 550

20



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4. Google Certified Ad Networks Targeting

CPM (clicks pay nothing)

-

CANs
Third Party Networks

Google AdSense Certified Ad Networks - 152693, also HERE
ALL Google CAN ads are image only.
ALL Google CAN ads are CPM only.

This area is growing fast - many CANs" have been added, and continue to be added. These 3rd-party entities compete in the AdWords auction, to be served on the AdSense content display network.

Allowing and Blocking Google Certified Ad Networks - 191270
.

530 - 550

20



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5. CONCLUSIONS


CPM Ads Are Not the Best Choice for Publishers
Targeting and Placement refer to CPM ads only. In my personal opinion, CPM ads are best only if your CPC performance is incredibly poor, AND your traffic is extremely high.

One problem is that all the Site Placement discussion relates to specific pages, but the advertiser can only target at the site level. If your site consists of many diverse subjects (this site), this is a poor option, since the ads will all be targeted to the content of just one page.

For the average small to medium-size web site, CPC should provide a MUCH higher revenue than CPM ads, by a factor of 10. I was "Site Targeted" for a short time, at a rate of many impressions per penny. The eCPM was abysmal. I emailed Adsense, and had site-targeting turned off on my sites. I don't know what the formula is, but somehow the CPM ads were reducing my CTR and eCPM stats - not acceptable to me. Why settle for an eCPM of $2 with CPM, when you can achieve an eCPM of $20 $8 or more with CPC ads? I just don't get it.

All the talk about "reducing advertiser cost", is the same thing as reducing the publisher payout. CPM rates need to go up quite a bit, to produce the same publisher income that CPC currently does.

Here is Google's take on CPC vs. CPM -
How do CPC and CPM ads compete with each other? - 2459326
To me, the discussion is total nonsense. Can YOU understand it?
In the SAME column, "Max Bid", CPC bids (per click) are conflated with CPM bids (per thousand impressions). This is obfuscation, pure and simple.
"QS" is not even defined (Quality Score-?).
Example #2 doesn't even show ads #2 and #3.
Example #2 is identical to Example #1, except for the inflated eCPM of $10 in line #5.
Checking on Google, average CPM ads are far closer to $1, than $10.
Also, where is the CTR data for the CPC ads? What CTR is assumed?
.

-

530 - 550

20


Per 1000 Pages
Ad Type
Bid
CTR
EPC
Average
Earn per View
Publisher
Earnings
CPM
$1
na
na
$0.001
$ 1
CPC
$0.44 bid
3 %
$0.30
$0.009
$ 9

$0.44 x .68 = $0.30
$0.30 x 30 = $9.00
Would you rather have $1.00, or $9.00?
In addition, many of my ads pay OVER $1.00 (bid=$1.47).

The Bottom Line
To maximize revenue, I choose to use PPC ads only.
This means far less hassle, and I believe, higher earnings -
NO CPM ADS
--- NO IMAGE ADS (all are CPM)
--- NO AD PLACEMENT
--- NO AD TARGETING
--- NO THIRD-PARTY ADS
--- NO GOOGLE CERTIFIED AD NETWORKS ADS (all are image)

-

I made this Adsense targeting page to save myself some time,
and help me to understand the differences between the Google Adsense options.
It is a lot of convoluted data to absorb.
.

530 - 550

20



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THIS CHART IS A WORK IN PROGRESS - NOT CORRECT !!!
The Google AdSense Spectrum
The Publisher Network
AKA The Display Network - Formerly The Content Network

CPM
CPC, PPC
Image
Ads
.
Ad
Targeting

Text Ads

YES, cheap ads
Most Ads

Image Ads

Most Image Ads
YES

Third Party Ads

All Image Ads -
All CPM
NO
YES

Ad Placement

YES
??
YES

Ad Targeting

YES
NO
YES

Contextual Targeting

YES

Placement Targeting

YES

Low Paying Ads
High Paying Ads

120 - 550

100

100

100

100




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6. Archival Information
AdSense
Site Targeting - "Referrals"

PPA Jensense on PPA

-

- " ... publishers can choose specific pay-per-action ads that are relevant to their site to run in new ad units that they create."
Publishers can SELECT a single ad, a group of ads, or a keyword.

IN BETA: BETA CANCELLED
Adsense now accepting applications for new referrals beta
The publisher targets PPA ads to SITE level.
The publisher CANNOT target PPA ads to URL (page) level.
Bad for sites that have multiple subjects - not everyone is in a "niche".


Because the PPA option is NOT contextual, the program policies are different -
You CAN draw attention to the ads, but
You still CANNOT tell people to click on your ads!

PPA Ads - The Newest Google Adsense Alternative
- Cancelled August 2008

Now we have PPA - a new ball game. At first blush, this looks very positive. But elsewhere, there have been problems with PPC in the past, with publishers being denied commissions, through cookie manipulation and hijacking. The announced cookie conversion timeframe is thirty days. I dump my cookies every week, for several reasons. Others do the same. Does this mean that I CANNOT use the new PPA option?

And, we have no way to confirm that a conversion actually occurred or not. Only the advertiser knows this, and each advertiser may or MAY NOT be honest. Future forum reports will make or break this new alternative, in the next few months.

530 - 550

20




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7. Adsense Channels

AdSense Referrals - Channel Summary
(PPA Program cancelled August 31, 2008)


Total
Channels

Custom
Channels

Track
- by page
- by placement

Paste channel code into each page manually.

200

URL
Channels

Track Channel groups
- by single page
- by multiple pages
- by specific directory
- by specific sub domain
- all pages on a domain

Automatic, once set up

100

200 - 550

150

100




8. AdWords Ad Targeting (PPA)

PPA
(
Jensense on PPA)

March 20, 2007 - PPA Beta began
August 31, 2008 - PPA Beta terminated

-

Pay Per Action
Beta Test

This applies to the Content Network only.
PPA Site Placement - Text, Image, or Ad Link

Pay Per Action FAQs

"You can create text, image, or text link ads for your pay-per-action campaign."

Conversion Tracking
- 1722054

Campaign management - Conversion Tracking
A click implements a cookie - The conversion time frame is 30 days.

200

330 - 550

20




Disclaimer
This is OLD data, shown only for historical purposes.

This is NOT A Google, Inc. Site
I am not privy to any inside information.
This page consists of a compilation of public information, commonly available on the internet, at multiple sites, as well as public webmaster forums, and simple manual tests.
The opinions stated above are merely the personal opinions of the author.
Although the author makes every effort to verify the information on this page, no information on this page is guaranteed to be correct, and any data contained herein may be erroneous.
This information is subject to change, and may not be relevant when you read it.

-

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This Vaughns Google AdSense Ad Targeting
page was last updated on 2018-09-18.